Fort Wayne Housing Authority Receives National Awards

November 9, 2022


October 31, 2022





Housing agency programs emphasize quality of life and access to resources


FORT WAYNE – The Fort Wayne Housing Authority (FWHA) was recently honored with 11 awards of merit from the National Association of Housing and Redevelopment Officials (NAHRO). NAHRO provides opportunities for its member agencies to earn national recognition for their innovative housing and community development projects, programs, and services. The awards also serve as a resource for highlighting the nation’s best providers of housing and community development projects.   As a result of their accomplishments, the Fort Wayne Housing Authority’s winning entries will be added to the NAHRO resource bank of information alongside housing and redevelopment agencies and community development departments that are involved in significant and innovative efforts to improve housing throughout the country.


“Earning these awards and receiving national recognition for our efforts is a testament to our commitment to providing safe, affordable housing for families in the Ft. Wayne community,” said FWHA executive director and CEO George Guy,   “During 2021 we spent our time increasing our interactions with residents, landlords, and the Fort Wayne community.  We were able to achieve this by reimagining former programming, elevating our technological and in-person interactions, and leaving no stone unturned to identify programs and resources to ensure that we provide access to quality housing and services for all.”


The Awards of Merit were won for the following programs:


  • Back to School Celebration
  • A Transition to Hybrid Work
  • Financial Literacy Classes
  • Francine’s Friends Mobile Mammography
  • Donation of Halloween Costumes
  • Transition to Online Waitlist Applications
  • Tablet Giveaway
  • Family Holiday Adoption
  • A Hybrid Approach to Meetings
  • Summer Reading Program
  • Housing Choice Voucher Program Landlord Incentives


To review descriptions of the awards and to see the full list of recipients visit


Click here for full release